American Biogas Council announces award finalists

The American Biogas Council has released the names of the finalists for the 2017 Biogas Industry Awards.

According to a statement from the American Biogas Council, this year’s shortlist represents biogas projects and innovations which are both exceptional individually and also examples for replication in future biogas projects.

The final winners of the awards are set to be announced at a special dinner on 17 October at the ABC’s fifth annual conference at BioCycle REFOR17 in Portland, Oregon.

"This year's finalists really show the diversity, strength and innovation of the US biogas industry," said Patrick Serfass, ABC Executive Director. "While we're looking forward to surprising the winners next week, all of these projects deserve recognition. We hope they will serve as models for future biogas project development."

The American Biogas Council (ABC) will award one Innovation of the Year and one Friend of the ABC award, as well as four Projects of the Year. Following a tradition which began in 2016, the ABC will recognise biogas systems that reached their 5 or 10 year milestone for continuous operation with the ABC’s Longevity Award.

According to the statement, there are more than 2,200 operational biogas systems in the US today, with the potential for over 13,500 news systems to be built.

The companies shortlisted for the Biogas Industry Awards Projects of the Year are:

  • New Hope Dairy, based in Homer, NY
  • Pine Island Farm Digester Facility, Sheffield, MA
  • Reinford Farms Anaerobic Digester, Mifflintwon, PA
  • Synergy Biogas, Covington, NY
  • UWO Allen Farm Digester, Allenville, WI
  • Valley View, Greencastle, MO
  • Monogram Clean Energy Plant, Martinsville, VA

The companies nominated for the Friend of the ABC award are:

  • High Plains Bioenergy/Seaboard Foods Gas Upgrading Plant to RNG
  • Quantum Biopower
  • Dr. David Babson

Impact Bioenergy Microdigesters and Newtrient LLC Technology Catalog have been nominated for the Innovation of the Year award.

181 queries in 0.489 seconds.